Monday, November 10, 2008

Sufjan Stevens - Welcome Wagon

So what is Sufjan doing with himself I wondered? It's been too long since 2005's Illinoise. Where are the other 48 states in his project?

Turns out he's been producing Asthmatic Kitty's new signing - the Welcome Wagon - whose debut, Welcome to the Welcome Wagon, is released December 9. Sufjan Stevens produced, arranged, and provided "extensive instrumentation" on the duo's new disc. Comprised of Presbyterian pastor the Reverend Thomas Vito Aiuto and his wife Monique, the Welcome Wagon craft what AK calls "a genre of gospel music that is refreshingly plain."

Welcome to the Welcome Wagon:

01 Up on a Mountain
02 Sold! To the Nice Rich Man
03 Unless the Lord the House Shall Build
04 He Never Said a Mumblin' Word
05 Hail to the Lord's Anointed
06 But for You Who Fear My Name
07 American Legion
08 You Made My Day
09 Half a Person
10 Jesus
11 I Am a Stranger
12 Deep Were His Wounds, and Red

MP3: The Welcome Wagon: Sold! To the Nice Rich Man [from the forthcoming Welcome to the Welcome Wagon LP]

1 comment:

Emily said...

Thanks for the heads up; I've been wondering what he's been up to!