Thursday, July 29, 2010



Here is a new artist for you. Her name is Brie Stoner...a Midwest girl that spent her early 20's making music with friends David Vandervelde, and the late great Jay Bennett...who instilled in her the beauty of analogue recording, and how to properly mic a guitar.

Drawing upon influences from everyone to Neil Young, Bob Dylan and Fleetwood Mac to Red House Painters and Hope Sandoval, the sound she's formed is one of a kind and one you must hear for yourself.

Now, she's on her own and releasing the Delicate Hour EP on August 3, 2010 including cover of Vixen's 80's classic Edge of A Broken Heart done with a twist only Brie Stoner could add.

Enjoy - let me know what you think.

Thursday, July 08, 2010

R.E.M. - Fables of the Reconstruction - full album stream

In honor of the 25th anniversary of the release of R.E.M.'s third album, Fables of the Reconstruction, MOG is now streaming the entire 2-CD reissue exclusively on their site one week prior to its July 13th release date.

The new edition features the digitally remastered original album, plus 14 previously unreleased demo recordings, cut prior to the album's studio sessions, including one long-sought track that has never been released. The album will also be released on 180g vinyl.


R.E.M.: Fables of the Reconstruction (25th Anniversary Edition) (2CD, digital)

Disc One: digitally remastered original album

1. Feeling Gravity's Pull
2. Maps and Legends
3. Driver 8
4. Life and How To Live It
5. Old Man Kensey
6. Can't Get There From Here
7. Green Grow The Rushes
8. Kohoutek
9. Auctioneer (Another Engine)
10. Good Advices
11. Wendell Gee
Disc Two: "The Athens Demos"

1. Auctioneer (Another Engine) [demo version]
2. Bandwagon [demo version] [final version was B-side to "Can't Get There From Here"]
3. Can't Get There From Here [demo version]
4. Driver 8 [demo version]
5. Feeling Gravity's Pull [demo version]
6. Good Advices [demo version]
7. Green Grow The Rushes [demo version]
8. Hyena [demo version] [album version appeared on Life's Rich Pageant]
9. Kohoutek [demo version]
10. Life and How To Live It [demo version]
11. Maps and Legends [demo version]
12. Old Man Kensey [demo version]
13. Throw Those Trolls Away [demo version] [previously unreleased]
14. Wendell Gee [demo version]

Thursday, July 01, 2010

Download exclusive new song by The Shins

As part of the Levis Pioneer Sessions download The Shins covering "Goodbye Girl". for Levi’s, Mercer is back in Shins’ mode re-crafting “Goodbye Girl,” a tightly-wound pop masterpiece written by Squeeze’s songwriting team of Chris Difford (smart lyrics) and Glenn Tilbrook (catchy melodies). One of the ’80s best pop bands, Squeeze included “Goodbye Girl” on its 1979 classic Cool for Cats, which undoubtedly found its way into the hands of a teenage Mercer when he was living in England. Pitting a reverbed guitar against an earthy acoustic strum he treats it reverently without undoing its big chorus.

Download here

Check out the other awesome artists on the Levis Pioneer Sessions here including The Kills, Jason Mraz,